top of page
Search

An Open Letter to my Intrusive Thoughts

Dear Intrusive Thoughts,


I don't know where you came from. I honestly don't know if I will ever get rid of you, permanently. I don't know why I listen to you so much.



Here is what I do know.

I know you do not define me. My mind is my own to command and control, even if you can sneak through the barriers, you have no power here.

I know you are all lies. I am worthy of respect. I am worthy of love. I am worthy of success. I am capable of building the life of my dreams. More than that I will build the life of my dreams.

I know you are nothing but noise. All you can do is sit in my grey matter and yell. You yell about how bad I am, at everything. You yell about how I can't handle life. You yell about how I will never succeed at anything. But that's all you are. Noise. Yes, there are days I can't drown out the noise and I am a sobbing mess. Yes, there are days I believe you. But those days are only small moments on a grand adventure. You are the trolls of my story and if trolls couldn't stop a hobbit on his way to the unimaginable, they certainly can't stop me.

I know you have wasted too much of my time. I know you have stolen plenty from me. I know how to recover from every blow you deliver.


I know I am strong enough. I know I will catch myself when I stumble. I know there is nothing you can do to stop me.


Yell. Bang. Scream away at my skull all you want, Intrusive Thoughts. I have given you enough energy and I will not give any more. I will never stop. I will never give up. I will never give in. And there is nothing you can do to stop me.

I have tools to overcome you. I have a support network. I'm becoming more aware of my triggers. I know grounding techniques. I know how to ride the waves you crash through my brain. I know how to use Lavender to keep my nervous system calm and balanced. I am leading a holistic lifestyle and I can come prepared to any battle you bring my way.


I will not thank you for any of these things that I know. I will not say you taught me a thing. I will not give you so much credit. I am strong because I am me. And that means I am enough.


And I've had enough of you.



 

Thank you for reading! If you are living with intrusive thoughts, please know you are not alone. Peace is possible.


Blessings,


Willow R.

Certified Aromatherapist

Owner, Rooted in my Strength



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page