top of page
Search

Get Rooted in Yourself

Wow time flies when you're a bookworm with new books in your collection. Thank you so much for your patience, plant pals! To kick off this brand new month I wanted to start with some news. Starting on November 13th, I'll have new blends available on my Etsy page. These are the same blends featured on my brand new "Ready Made Blends" page right here on this website. Every blend is made to order and shipped within 24 hours of being made. This is to keep blends as fresh as possible. Keep an eye out for announcements as I will be expanding available blends soon! If you want to be among the first to know news about blends, products, sales and deals you can join The Garden, my Facebook group or subscribe to my email list.

Without further ado, let's get to the main event!


A small bonsai tree in a simple white pot with a white background
Bonsai

As you know, dear reader, honesty is one of the most important pillars of Rooted in my Strength. I didn't write as many blogs last month, in part because October is a really hard month for me and kicks off the start of a difficult season. But this year, I just didn't feel like I had anything of value to say. I've been feeling a bit lost and numb to everything around me. My personal life has undergone so many changes, and these changes won't be resolving any time soon. Any period of transition or change is difficult in its own way, and my current struggle is feeling uprooted, ungrounded, and off center. Luckily enough, I have at least a few tools I can use to remedy these unhelpful feelings.


Backing up, I say unhelpful because feeling off center is a trigger of mine. In truth, all feelings are messengers and it is so important to pay attention to what feelings are telling us. When I feel uprooted, certain emotions come up. I notice my temper is shorter, sleep is more difficult, and it's a lot easier to give more weight to intrusive thoughts. These are the things I pay attention to in order to notice the root cause- feeling ungrounded. This means I can make adjustments to allow more grace for myself and give myself permission to be gentler to me. In discussing these things with my therapist, she asked me one of my favorite questions. If I was a plant, what qualities would I have?

I had to start laughing. Of course, I answered that I'd be a willow tree because they are resilient, water loving things with anti-inflammatory properties used in traditional medicine. They have such a unique story with incredible fairytale lore. She walked me through noticing these are all qualities I have. I am a resilient, water loving person with a close connection to helping others. I have a unique story, and I happen to have been obsessed with fairies as a kid. I don't need to feel grounded in my ever changing surroundings if I have parts of myself to be rooted in. And in turn, this can expand into feeling more neutral about who I am as a person instead of feeling numb to myself.


I'll even take this a step further with my aromatherapy training. There are so many beautiful oils I can use to help soothe my nervous system and encourage feeling more grounded as I put this plant thought experiment to good use. One of my current favorites is Patchouli, Pogostemon cablin. This is a gorgeous oil distilled from the leaves of the plant, Patchouli can provide a wonderfully balancing effect on an overactive mind. I love adding a few drops of this with Lavender, Lavandula angustifolia, in my diffuser to enhance my journaling, meditation, and sleep.


Let me ask you this, dear reader. What feelings have you been avoiding lately and what are they really telling you? Don't be afraid to explore your mind and go to places that may seem unconnected! The mind is a wonderfully multifaceted places with endless, surprising connections.

If you want to take this a step further and build personalized, holistic self care, check out my "Services" page. Let's connect today and discover what aromatherapy can do for you.


Dear reader, enjoy the rest of your week!


Blessings,


Willow R

Owner, Certified Aromatherapist

Rooted in my Strength

Find me on Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest!


A dark green background sits behind the words "Rooted in my Strength Aromatherapy Services"
Rooted in my Strength logo

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page